Aphrodite


image

Conceived in the womb of the sea
Risen from foam
Yet unborn
I am the daughter of heaven
Sculptured at the peak of womanhood
Supremely nubile
I am Aphrodite
Goddess of love,beauty and pleasure
Aflame in desire
Inflamed in displeasure
I dance with dolphins
In the waves of my cradle
I sleep in shells adorned with pearls
Red of my lips rousing as roses
Swathed by folded petals
The taste of my nectar
As cloying as the honey of myrtle
I am such beauty
That the mirror can not hold
I descend to the lap of Gaia
My chariot pulled by sparrows
To remove the grievances of sorrowful breasts
At times,I am the majestic swan
That listens to the song of unrequited love
Sung by despondent souls
Who sit by the lake
And cry over a heartbreak
I am Aphrodite
Deity of love
Fire of desire
Personification of beauty

3 thoughts on “Aphrodite”

  1. exquisite – some lines very memorable:

    I dance with dolphins
    In the waves of my cradle
    I sleep in shells adorned with pearls
    Red of my lips rousing as roses
    Swathed by folded petals

    I descend to the lap of Gaia
    My chariot pulled by sparrows

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

