The quest


image

I looked for myself
In my reflection,
Rubbing away smudges of mascara
But the stain had seeped in
Too deep
And I chafed my skin

I looked for myself
In the strewn ashes of my sooty lungs
And in bottles of liquid oblivion
But they helped me escape
Into lanes of lost land
And promised no return

I looked for myself
In the crumpled sheets and smeared sweat
Of miscellaneous men
But the nights are blurrs
Of mindless mechanical marathons,
Heady and veneral
And I cant recollect
If I felt a trace of something stirring in me
beyond the carnal heat

So I gave it all up
And looked for myself
In the eyes of death
And all I saw,
Was you
Intrauterine
Untouched
Pristine
The only aliquot of life
That breathed within me.

Leave a Reply

